USTA Membership Link

10 and Under tennis link

Tennislink page link

USTA Texas
8105 Exchange Drive
Austin, TX 78754
512.443.1334 (Phone)
512.443.4748 (Fax)


USTA Texas Twitter page link


USTA Texas YouTube page link



USTA Texas Announces 2016 Community Development Award Winners


USTA Texas is pleased to announce nine individual recipients and six organizations for its 2016 Community Development Awards.

The entire section is well represented in this year’s awards, with Fort Worth taking home the most with four. San Antonio had three winners, Austin two and Brownsville, Corpus Christi, Dallas, San Angelo and Waco with one each.

“2016 was another incredible field of hard-working, talented candidates- all worthy of winning.” says USTA Texas’ Mike Carter. “We are so appreciative of the many contributions they have made to our great game and those who play it!” 

These awards recognize the outstanding work of the 14 winners and highlight how much they have given back to the tennis community. The full description of each award is available on the Community Development section of the USTA Texas website.

Each winner was surprised with a USTA Texas Award after being announced the winner. USTA Texas will be rolling out videos on its YouTube page.

The following people/organizations were selected as the 2016 winners:

2016 Individual Award Winners:

Volunteer of the Year – Nancy King, Keller

Community Service Award Claire McFerran, Waco

High School All-Star No-Cut Coach – Leslie Crook, Fort Worth*

Millennial Volunteer of the Year – SuJaan Lal, Austin

Advocate of the Year – Debbie Grieder, San Antonio

Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year – Cris Perkins, Fort Worth*

Junior Team Tennis Rookie Coordinator of the Year – Stacy Duffell, San Angelo

Diverse Achievement Award – Sarah Pernell, Austin

Wilson Blast Excellence Award – Danny Espinosa, Brownsville


2016 Organization/Program Awards:

CTA of the Year – SATA, San Antonio*

CTA Excellence – FWTA, Fort Worth

Partner UP! – San Antonio Sports iPlay Program, San Antonio

NJTL Chapter of the Year – DTA, Dallas*

Youth Excellence Program – EMS Tennis Academy at Chisholm Trail High School, Fort Worth

Hot Shots Program of the Year – CCTA Hot Shots, Corpus Christi


*These award winners will be the USTA Texas nomination for the USTA National Award




Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup