USTA Membership Link

10 and Under tennis link

Tennislink page link

USTA Texas
8105 Exchange Drive
Austin, TX 78754
512.443.1334 (Phone)
512.443.4748 (Fax)


USTA Texas Twitter page link


USTA Texas YouTube page link



Super Seniors Crowned in New Braunfels

The 2010 USTA Super Senior League Championships were held November 12-14 in New Braunfels hosted by the John Newcombe Tennis Ranch. Seven new champions were crowned in a weekend of exceptional play.

Despite dropping an early match, the San Antonio ladies 6.0 team was able to come away with the championship, edging Northeast Texas in a five team round robin. Billie Warner captained this team, out of Fair Oaks Ranch Country Club and featured: Cheryl Dickerson, Catarina Perez Beresky, Brenda Childs, Lera Borden, Cynthia Exton, Gloria Gandy, Carol Bruehler, Susan Ehinger and Mary Ellen McRedmond.

San Antonio also captured the 7.0 ladies division. San Antonio swept Northeast Texas, 3-0 in the finals. San Antonio reached the finals after defeating Dallas in the semifinals, 2-1, while Northeast Texas got past Austin by the same score. The San Antonio team played their matches out of Blossom Tennis Center and were captained by Kathy Willis. The team also included: Susan Erhardt, Ellie Garcia, Vicki White, Lee Ellen Gunn, Kathy Horan, Sydney Burton, Marion Fitzgerald and Robin Johnson.

San Antonio narrowly missed out on another title in the ladies 8.0 division, the they fell to Southeast Texas, 2-1 in the final. Both teams swept their respective round robins. Southeast Texas was captained by Mary Esquivel and featured: Carolyn Taylor, Frances A. Smith, Sue Simcox, Ellen Messer, Sari Rogers and Holly Chall.

Houston went undefeated in the double round robin over Dallas and Austin to win the ladies 9.0 division. Rox Ann Schanzenbach was captain of the Houston team, which played out of Memorial Park Tennis Center and included: Ann Moore, Melinda Herrick, Candace Kyle, Claudia Hudson, Susan Bramlette, Hilary Marold, Susie Cunningham and Carla Baker.

The Northeast Texas men’s 6.0 team captured another title, winning a best-of-three against San Antonio. Burt Gabbert was the captain of this team which featured: Blake Bailey, Lawrence Pfeiffer, Ramsay Walker, Edward Polansky, Richard Cook, Ted Heithecker, Jeffry Florentine and Roy Lee.

Dallas came away with the championship in the men’s 7.0 division, going undefeated through a six-team round robin and dropping only three lines along the way. Once again, it was Bob Bender’s team, playing out of High Point Tennis Center taking a title. The team included: Robert Bender, John Broyles, Keith Seibold, Jackie Walton, Frank Timmins, Robert Noble, Lloyd East, Bob Northcut, Danny Carr, George Bednarz and Prakash Kagal.

In the men’s 8.0 division, Houston swept Austin, 3-0 in the championship round. Both teams claimed round robin sweep to advance to Sunday’s final. The team from Lakeside Country Club featured: Charlie McMahon, Jack Clow, John Webre, Scott Denison, Don Cannon, Thomas Connell, Lewis Arend, Murle Atherton, Jack Creel, Michael Spoor and Gary Wooley.



Print Article Email Article Newsletter Signup Share
Newsletter Signup